Fastcase Announces 2014 “Fastcase 50” Award Winners

Legal Publishing Company Recognizes the Top 50 Innovators, Visionaries, and Leaders in Law WASHINGTON, DC (July 10, 2014) – Legal publisher Fastcase today published the company’s annual list of “Fastcase 50” award recipients. The “Fastcase 50” award recognizes 50 of the smartest, most courageous innovators, techies, visionaries, and leaders in the law. View the 2014 winners at The Fastcase 50 highlights entrepreneurs, innovators, and trailblazers — people who have charted a new course for the delivery of legal services. In law firms with new delivery models, legal tech startups, and even inside some of the nation’s largest law firms and legal publishers, these pioneers are giving the world a first look at what’s next for law and technology. “The Fastcase 50 is one of our company’s favorite events,” said Fastcase CEO Ed Walters. “There is a wonderful community of friends, past winners, bar partners, law librarians, and software developers who recommend their heroes for the award. Every year we’re inspired by the stories, and we especially enjoy celebrating some people who aren’t always in the limelight, but who are quietly transforming the law and legal services.” It was hard to top the Fastcase 50 classes of 2011, 2012, and 2013 — but with another record number of nominees, there were some great choices. Fastcase is happy to introduce the Fastcase 50 Class of 2014. Congratulations to the following Fastcase 50 award recipients: Frank Bennett, Faculty of Law, Nagoya University Nicole Bradick, Director, Potomac Law Group; Founder, Custom Counsel Evan Brown, Attorney at InfoLawGroup and Co-host of This Week in Law Chad Burton, Founding Attorney at Burton Law and CEO of Curo Legal Matthew Butterick, Author of Typography for Lawyers Ryan Calo, Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Washington Peter Carayiannis, President and Founder of Conduit Law Brian Carver, Assistant Professor at the U. C. Berkeley School of Information Ross Davies, Professor at the George Mason School of Law and Editor-in-Chief of The Green Bag Francesca Di Lisa, Chief Operating Officer at WeHave the Future! Hon. Stephen Dillard, Judge, Georgia Court of Appeals Ron Dolin, Legal Technologist, Co-Founder of Program for Legal Tech & Design, Fellow & Instructor of Law at Stanford Law School, Center on the Legal Profession Casey Flaherty, Corporate Counsel, Kia Motors America. Simon Fodden, Founder and Publisher of Bryan Garner, Founder and President of LawProse, Professor at Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law Tina Gheen, Emerging Technologies Librarian, Law Library of Congress Sam Glover, Editor in Chief, Lawyerist Media, LLC Tom Goldstein, Co-Founder and Publisher, SCOTUSBlog Ken Grady, CEO, SeyfarthShaw Lean Consulting Michael Green, Director and Founder, BarNEt Jake Heller, Co-Founder and CEO, Casetext Kashmir Hill, Senior Online Editor, Forbes Justice Geraldine Hines, Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judiciary Leila Kanani, Partner at Vector IP and Founder of Intermix Legal Group Courtney Kennaday, Director of the Practice Management Assistance Program, South Carolina Bar Orin Kerr, Professor of Law at the George Washington University Joshua Kubicki, Founder, Legal Transformation Institute LLC Casey Kuhlman, Managing Partner, Watershed Legal Services Richard Leiter, Director and Professor of Law at the Schmid Law Library, University of Nebraska College of Law Benjamin Lieber, Founder, Potomac Law Group Mike Lissner, Co-Founder, CourtListener and Free Law Project John Lord, Founder, Neota Logic Marco Mari, Co-Founder, WeHave the Future! Scott Meiser, Senior Director of Research Information, LexisNexis Dan Mills, Assistant Director, Practice Management Advisory Service, DC Bar Art Neill, Founder and Executive Director, New Media Rights Justice Sarah Parker, Chief Justice, North Carolina Supreme Court David Perla, Founder, 1991 Ventures; Co-Founder and CEO, Pangea3 Vishnu Prasad, CEO, Law Pundits LLP Scott Rechtschaffen, Chief knowledge Officer and Shareholder, Littler Matt Spiegel, Founder, MyCase Neil Squillante, Creator & Publisher, TechnoLawyer Colin Starger, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Baltimore School of Law Lisa Tatum, Past President, State Bar of Texas Susan Taylor Martin, President of Legal Business, Thomson Reuters Legal Eugene Volokh, Professor of Law at UCLA School of Law Byron Warnken, Owner, 27Legal Justice Don Willett, Justice, Supreme Court of Texas Rebecca Williams, Policy Analyst, Sunlight Foundation and Co-Founder of DC Legal Hackers David Zvenyach, General Counsel, Council to the District of Columbia Fastcase 50 recipients will be celebrated during the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) annual meeting July 10-16 in San Antonio, Texas. To view profiles of each of the winners and to learn more about the Fastcase 50 award, visit About Fastcase Fastcase is a leading legal publisher focused on smarter legal software that democratizes the law, making it more accessible to more people. Using patented software that combines the best of legal research with the best of Web search, Fastcase helps busy users sift through the clutter, ranking the best cases first and enabling the re-sorting of results to find answers fast. Founded in 1999, Fastcase has more than 800,000 subscribers from around the world. Fastcase is an American company based in Washington, D.C. For more information, follow Fastcase on Twitter at @Fastcase or visit

#1 Legal Research App

Winner of the prestigious American Association of Law Libraries (New Product) Award, Fastcase for iOS, Android, and Windows Phone is used by more attorneys than any other legal app according to the ABA. Anyone may use the app for free to access Fastcase's comprehensive legal research database on the go.